Our Story

JHPDA MISSION

The Johns Hopkins Postdoctoral Association (JHPDA) supports and enhances the postdoctoral experience at Johns Hopkins University on the East Baltimore and Bayview campuses. We seek to improve the daily life of postdoctoral fellows through building a sense of community in the academic and social realms. We also seek to address long-term issues related to career development, training, and policy. We advocate for fellows by bringing their interests and concerns to the attention of the administration in order to initiate constructive and mutually beneficial changes. The JHPDA was formed in 1992 and has been officially recognized by the University since 1994 making us one of the oldest postdoctoral associations in the country. Click here to read the JHPDA charter.

JHPDA Membership

Membership currently includes all postdoctoral fellows in the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (SOM), Bloomberg School of Public Health (SPH) and School of Nursing (SON). The JHPDA is run by an elected Executive Board and Committee Chairs (listed below), all of whom are volunteers.

Our Awesome Team
Current

Executive Board

Aline Gottlieb, M.D., Ph. D.

Position: Co-president
Email: agottli5@jhmi.edu

Alex Weiss, D.Phil

Position: Co-president
Email: arweiss@jhmi.edu

Joshua Hooks, Ph.D.

Position: Treasurer
Email: jhooks4@jhmi.edu

 
Our Awesome Team
Current

Co-Chairs

Omid Shafaat, M.D.

Policy and Advocacy

Oby Ebenebe, Ph.D.

Professional Development

Mehdi Fanai, MD

Media & Communications

Irina Duff, M.D., PhD.

Policy and Advocacy

Priya Pai, Ph.D.

Media and Communications

Gabriela Romero-Meza, Ph.D.

Diversity Postdoc Alliance

Wanda Figueroa-Cuilan, Ph.D.

Diversity Postdoc Alliance

Sadiya Parveen, Ph.D.

Professional Development

Omid Shafaat, M.D.

Position: Policy and Advocacy
Email: oshafaat@jhmi.edu

Oby Ebenebe, Ph.D.

Position: Professional Development
Email: oebeneb1@jhmi.edu

Mehdi Fanai, MD

Position: Media & Communications
Email: mehdifanai@jhmi.edu

Naomi Dirckx, Ph.D.

Position: Socials
Email: ndirckx1@jhmi.edu

Irina Duff, M.D., PhD.

Position: Policy and Advocacy
Email: iduff1@jhmi.edu

Priya Pai, Ph.D.

Position: Media and Communications
Email: ppai1@jhmi.edu

Gabriela Romero-Meza, Ph.D.

Position: Diversity Postdoc Alliance
Email: gromero5@jhu.edu

Wanda Figueroa-Cuilan, Ph.D.

Position: Diversity Postdoc Alliance
Email: wfiguer2@jhmi.edu

Sadiya Parveen, Ph.D.

Position: Professional Development
Email: sparvee2@jhmi.edu

 
Our Awesome Team
Previous

Executive Board and Co-Chairs

Collin Weigel, Ph.D.

Position: SPH
Email: cweigel1@jhu.edu

Bahar Tuncgenc, PhD

Position: Treasurer, International
Email: btuncge1@jhmi.edu

Georg Oeltzschner, Ph.D.

Position: Treasurer
Email: goeltzs1@jhmi.edu

Kartik Temburnikar, Ph.D.

Position: Media & Communications
Email: ktembur1@jhmi.edu

Rhishita Chourashi, Ph.D.

Position: International
Email: rchoura1@jhmi.edu

Saeed Ghandili, M.D.

Position: International
Email: saeed.ghandili@jhmi.edu

 
You will love it...

Want to join our amazing team? Have a question or comment?

Fill the form below

Leave a comment